Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you didn’t already know, the word stress can actually be spelled two ways. Yes, it would seem impossible, but there are in fact two ways to spell the exact same word. Stress can obviously be spelled s-t-r-e-s-s. OR.

J-O-B-H-U-N-T. Job Hunt.


There are certain “necessities” you need to survive as a modern American twenty-something…

You need to eat. And American society would tell you that it has to be 1. Organic. And 2. Found at Whole Foods. #foodshaming

You need to sleep. And American society would tell you that you also need to forgo sleep in order to work…because you need to work. Irony number 1. You need sleep to function and be successful, but you need to not sleep to succeed. #onthegrind#dearsocialmediapressure#goplayintraffic

Now for some of the fun new necessities, but arguably the most non-negotiable by American law. Because law doesn’t tell me I need to eat or need to sleep. However law does tell me…

You need to pay your student loans. And American society would tell you that you need to go to college, therefore you need a loan or two. Oh, and if you can’t pay them because you can’t find a job… that’s just not their problem. Irony number 2. You go to college to find a career, yet more and more college grads can’t find a job, ironic ain’t it?  Default on your student loans, you’re wayyy worse off than if you don’t eat or sleep. #creditscore#backgroundcheck

You need to have health insurance. And American society would tell you that by law you must have health insurance, but you need to be able to pay for it. OR you need to have a job with benefits, and even still, you need to be able to pay for it. Irony number 3. If you are lucky enough to eat and sleep, you can pray you won’t need to tap into the health insurance, but who cares…because you’ll still be paying for it. #livehealthy#payeitherway

J-O-B-H-U-N-T. Finding a job is very literally, a hunt. Irony number 4. I feel both the hunter and the prey. I am on the hunt, ravenous, and putting 100% into catching my prey and landing the job. However I am still the prey. America, with its over-priced necessary organic food and sleep-but-don’t-sleep attitude. America, with its student loans and college to get the job without the job outcome. America, with its mandatory health insurance job benefits or no job benefits. I feel, in a way, that I am America’s prey.

There is so much pressure to pursue the “American Dream” but finding the dream job in America, or any job for that matter, can be the stressor of your life. Believe me when I say, the only thing more stressful than having a job, is not having one.

A Letter to America,

Pursuit of the American dream. America, you are the beautiful, the free, the great, the pride. And while I love you, America, you are my S-T-R-E-S-S. America, I am working within your system, under your constraints, with your “necessities,” throw me a bone here. The J-O-B-H-U-N-T sucks. I want to be able to brag about “living the American Dream” and all I want is to work, to get there, to be “on the grind.” And while some of my critics will say I need to just “make it happen,” well trust me, I am doing everything in my power to do so. I have returned to the workforce since my departure due to health issues, but it isn’t full-time (no hours to give) the pay won’t cover my student loans and it doesn’t have heath insurance benefits. I am giving it everything I got, even trying to go back to school to further my education to get that “American Dream job.” Application (FIT) after application (UF MAMC) after application (USC Communications), pull through for me. I am going out there to get my American Dream, I am on the hunt. America, don’t make me your prey.

